The Beast


Oh the all classic stepmill. My workout buddy and I endearingly call it “The Beast”. You have seen this machine before. Oftentimes empty with no brave soul to dare attempt their fate by tangling with “The Beast”. The machine that consumes its victims in less than 10 minutes and leaves them in a pile of sweat and heap on the floor.

I had my bouts with this machine. I think I even tamed it a few months ago. But don’t get complacent. Just when you think you have it conquered, you get comfortable, stop jumping on it, decide to return weeks later only to find out it has regained its strength against you and is whipping your tail again..and again…and yet again!

I’ve had to alert professional trainers who are working out on “The Beast” to stand up straight because bending over or leaning on the rails is cheating. They typically look at me with crazed eyes in a daze just trying to get to the perilous end of their 15 or 20 minutes on it.

I make “The Beast” sound impossible but actually it is one of the most challenging cardio machines in the gym. It increases the heart rate very quickly if the step speed is more than level 3. It sculpts the thighs, hamstrings and glutes..who doesn’t want that? And it is a quick in and out workout (you KNOW I love that) because of its intensity..you do not have to stay on it long to burn those calories ladies!!!

So don’t let “The Beast” defeat you. Conquer it but you must have a plan. You can’t just jump on the back of this dragon and not expect to get slung around. Take it easy….start off by going for 5 minutes. Next session, add another 5 minutes until you have worked your way up to a total of 20 to 30 minutes. Your heart and lower half will thank you.

“The Beast” CAN be tamed!

About Femme Fitale Fit Club

I'm a lot of things such as wife, mother of 2, and career woman but my passion is fitness. You can sum me up as a fitness lifestyle blogger and enthusiast. I started Femme Fitale Fit Club to motivate women to live fit and healthy lives as well as share information on fitness programs, good nutrition, fitness equipment and tools. I love fitness challenges, running, cooking healthy meals, lifting weights, and meeting new people! View all posts by Femme Fitale Fit Club

2 responses to “The Beast

Leave a Reply

