Reminiscing on 2012


Wow what an amazing year for me and my family.  Not just in fitness but overall.  I will keep this post focused on fitness though.  When the year began I was a stepmill queen.  I learned about it around October/November of 2011 and was using it to up my cardio at every turn because it was one of the few machines in the gym where I found I worked up a sweat in less than 5 minutes consistently no matter what level I put it on.  I was working out with my personal trainer twice a week for 30 minutes and then jumping on the cardio machine for 30 minutes afterwards with a friend of mine who would do the same.  During the end of 2011 (I know this is a reflection of 2012 but 2011 plays a role) I attended a birthday party where I hooked up with a friend I had not seen in a minute.  I mean we text and emailed each other (even though we live in the same city) but we did not physically see each other in months.  I show up to her party and she is slimmed down looking fabulous!  I ask what she has been doing and she informs me she started running and set goals for herself to run in a certain number of races in 2011 and 2012.

She also tells me about a running group called Black Girls RUN! and says there is a local chapter online that runs together in our city.  I immediately go on Facebook to check them out and ask for admittance into this online group who also takes their runs outside.  I also took it upon myself to purchase some outdoor running gear because I envisioned I would be running with these ladies very soon.  I used to run outside consistently with a partner back in 2005 so I knew I could hang and handle running outside with a bunch of avid runners.  Time kept going by and with my outdoor tights and running gloves for the cold months ….. I never got with the ladies to go running.

What I did do is workout with my trainer consistently from about January to May.  In April I took the kids down to S.C. to visit with my mother for a week and the local gym actually gave me a FREE guest pass for the week to use their facilities otherwise I would have had to pay $50 a day!  I thought that was awesome of them because they could have just went with the profit and made me pay.  But you know – next time I go down to visit I will gladly pay to work out in their gym since they were so gracious to me.

May/June timeframe I get my neighbors to come out running with me around our neighborhood.  Several were walkers vs. runners but figured, if I get them moving it will be a benefit to all.  They invited other neighbors to come work out with us and I had visions of grandeur – all of the ladies in our neighborhood walking and running together showing solidarity..blah blah blah.  The ladies who decided to attend were fairly consistent but then I found my new running and workout buddy who was a neighbor of mine I never met and we lived in the same neighborhood together over 5 years.  I know shame on me but the good thing is…..after I met her and saw her determination…I knew I found a kindred spirit!

She and I proceeded to continue to walk/run with the other ladies but we would run first then when the ladies would come out – go walking/running with them.  See we were trying to improve our running and distance.  Everyone was not ready for that so we would slow down to not leave everybody yet we were not getting a true workout in for ourselves.  She and I continued to run outside during the summer months at her suggestion.  We would run 2 times during the week before work starting at 5:30 am ending around 6:30 am which gave us time to get home, wash up and get out of the door to work on time.

In August we discovered this awesome boot camp (Sanders Optimum Fitness) which was located not far from our neighborhood.  Once we started those sessions it was ON!  I stopped going to my trainer the first month I started boot camp because I did not think I could physically do both even if there were no schedule conflicts.  Boot camp was M, W, and Th and my personal trainer was Tu and F.  No conflict but that meant 5 solid days of grueling training with no break.  I would then incorporate a Saturday in there with a run or gym time just to top it off.  In the month of August, I took a break from my trainer.

I returned to her in September and took a month off of the boot camp.  In October I decided I was going to go BEAST MODE and did both boot camp and personal trainer and I haven’t looked back.  I signed up for boot camp again through the Christmas holiday as well as worked out with my trainer and a BEAST has been born.

It is now the end of the year and as I reflect on this past year I feel like:

1.  I have gotten stronger

2.  My arms have more definition than they did last year

3.  I can run further

4.  I have improved my running pace from a solid 10 minute/mile to a solid 9:30 minute/mile

5.  I finally got out there with Black Girls RUN! and ran with them twice over the Thanksgiving holiday (ironically one of the ladies who runs with the group also trains with my personal trainer)

6.  I am lifting heavier all around

7.  My sprint game is up

8.  I have met some incredible people from boot camp and BGR!

9.  I started this blog to share my passion and interest

10.  I have been able to get others interested in their fitness and well-being

11.  Weight consistently down 5 lbs

When I look back over this past year I can’t complain and I look forward to 2013 being just as amazing!  I want to continue to try new things that challenge me and help me grow so that next year this time I am even more solid than I was before.  I am proud of my accomplishments and welcome 2013 with all of its surprises and adventure!

Femme Fitale Fit Club

Motivating you to Firm, Fit and Fabulous!

Have fun with us online at Facebook Facebook

 

About Femme Fitale Fit Club

I'm a lot of things such as wife, mother of 2, and career woman but my passion is fitness. You can sum me up as a fitness lifestyle blogger and enthusiast. I started Femme Fitale Fit Club to motivate women to live fit and healthy lives as well as share information on fitness programs, good nutrition, fitness equipment and tools. I love fitness challenges, running, cooking healthy meals, lifting weights, and meeting new people! View all posts by Femme Fitale Fit Club

Leave a Reply

