Who Needs Medicine?


I work for a health insurance company and every year we have an opportunity to decrease our annual medical benefit premium by participating in a biometric screening.  They measure our cholesterol, triglycerides, glucose, BMI, and blood pressure.  I signed up last week and silly me forgot I had it this morning.  I drank my green smoothie with kale and ate some bacon (3 slices).  I was supposed to fast for 9 to 12 hours!!  EEK!

IMG_0369

I also had boot camp this morning, which I did not feel like attending and Monte had us running and running and running.  We ran 5 miles today plus did over 700 ab reps!  I thought he lost his mind.  I left there so tired.  My feet hurt and I probably need to buy new running shoes because I already wore these out after 6 months with all of this boot camp running!

IMG_0365

I arrived at work and checked my calendar for the day and lo and behold….there it is!  I have a 9:15 am the appointment for my biometric screening.

I almost panicked because I knew I had been eating, did not fast and was rushing in to work to start my 8:30 am call which can turn out stressful.  I go down early, about 9 am, and go through all of my screening.  They have a counselor at the end to review your results.  My results were EXCELLENT!  I was soooooooo excited.  Check it out!IMG_0371

My HDL was so high (over 100) they didn’t record it.  Same goes for my LDL – it was so low they didn’t count it.  My triglycerides were on point and so was my glucose level CONSIDERING I drank a green kale fruit smoothie this morning (16 oz)!!!  HOT DOG!  My blood pressure was 90/60 and I had to ask if that was considered too low.  She said keep doing what I am doing because she wished she was in that range.  My BMI was 24.2 (I just skated by).  I am 5 foot 2 and 132 so I think that isn’t too bad.  I WAS 140 and then 137 so I am going in the right direction!

Who needs medicine when all you need is good exercise and a decent diet?  Fresh fruits and veggies and treats in moderation?  I am so happy for Monte and Heather pushing me so at the tender age of 43 I have biometric stats of a person much younger.  God willing I plan to be around for a long time and consistent exercise (5 days a week) is MY MEDICINE!!!!!  And it tastes GOOD too!!!!

Share with us how exercise has helped YOU!  Leave a comment – we want to know!

Femme Fitale Fit Club

Motivating you to Firm, Fit and Fabulous!

Have fun with us online at Facebook at www.facebook.com/FemmeFitaleFitness

About Femme Fitale Fit Club

I'm a lot of things such as wife, mother of 2, and career woman but my passion is fitness. You can sum me up as a fitness lifestyle blogger and enthusiast. I started Femme Fitale Fit Club to motivate women to live fit and healthy lives as well as share information on fitness programs, good nutrition, fitness equipment and tools. I love fitness challenges, running, cooking healthy meals, lifting weights, and meeting new people! View all posts by Femme Fitale Fit Club

Leave a Reply

